How to Watch the 2023 Women’s World Cup

The Women’s World Cup is underway in Australia and New Zealand! It is the biggest-ever edition of the tournament—the field expanded from 24 teams to 32 teams—it’s an exciting time for women’s soccer. It’s also the first time the tournament will have two host nations.

While the U.S. women are still the favorites to win, it’s definitely tougher competition this year, with England, Spain, Germany, and France showing up with formidable teams. Here’s how to watch the Women’s World Cup—and when the U.S. Women’s National Team (USWNT) is playing:

Where to watch and stream the World Cup:

wales v uswnt

Lynn Williams dribbles the ball.

Bob Drebin/ISI Photos//Getty Images

On television, all the matches will air on Fox (in English) and Telemundo Deportes (in Spanish). They will also be available to watch on FS1, FOXSports.com, and the FOX Sports App. Unfortunately, most matches will take place in the middle of the night—or very early in the morning—for U.S. viewers. The first match of the world cup was New Zealand versus Norway at 3 a.m. eastern this morning.

On streaming, you can watch the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup on Peacock (in Spanish), or you can stream Fox with YouTube TV, Fubo or SlingTV.

When can I watch the USWNT play?

wales v united states

L-R, members of the USWNT: Megan Rapinoe, Emily Sonnett, Alex Morgan, and Alana Cook.

Carmen Mandato/USSF//Getty Images

The U.S. women play in Group E; only two teams from each group advance to the next round. Here was their match schedule:

  • Versus Vietnam: Friday, July 21 at 9 p.m. eastern / 6 p.m. pacific (U.S. won, 3-0)
  • Versus the Netherlands: Wednesday, July 26 at 9 p.m. eastern / 6 p.m. pacific (U.S. tied, 1-1)
  • Versus Portugal: Tuesday, August 1, at 3 a.m. eastern / midnight pacific (U.S. tied, 0-0)

They did not win their group, but they still advanced to the Round of 16. Each of these games is a must-win—so if they lose, they’re out. If they keep winning, here’s their schedule moving forward:

  • Round of 16: Sunday, August 6 at 5 a.m. eastern / 2 a.m. pacific
  • Quarterfinals: Friday, August 11 at 3:30 a.m. eastern / 12:30 a.m. pacific
  • Semifinals: Tuesday, August 15 at 4 a.m. eastern / 1 a.m. pacific
  • Finals: Saturday, August 20 at 6 a.m. eastern / 3 a.m. pacific

Again, all matches will air on Fox. We’ll update this with the full details of their knockout round matches as they become available.

What are the key dates?

wales v uswnt

Julie Ertz high-fives teammates during their World Cup send-off celebration.

Bob Drebin/ISI Photos//Getty Images

Group stage matches: Thursday, July 20 through Thursday, August 3.

Round of 16 matches: Saturday, August 5 through Tuesday, August 8.

Quarterfinal matches: Thursday, August 10 through Saturday, August 12.

Semifinal matches: Tuesday, August 15 and Wednesday, August 16.

Finals: Saturday, August 20 at 6 a.m. eastern.

Headshot of Emily Burack

Emily Burack (she/her) is the news writer for Town & Country, where she covers entertainment, culture, the royals, and a range of other subjects. Before joining T&C, she was the deputy managing editor at Hey Alma, a Jewish culture site. Follow her @emburack on Twitter and Instagram. 


Posted

in

by

Tags: